Great news! Starting from October 2019, you can travel to St Petersburg and Leningrad region and stay there with a single-entry eVisa for up to 8 days. Apply for an electronic visa to St Petersburg is possible if you travel for business, tourism and humanitarian purposes. Even better news, electronic visas to the Northern capital of Russia are free of charge, i.e. there is no consular fee.

If you are a citizen of one of 53 eligible countries (check the list below), apply for an eVisa on the website of the Russian ministry for foreign affairs at most 20 days and at least 4 days before an entry date. Pay attention, your eVisa will be valid within 30 days after an online approval. The permitted length of stay in the country can’t be extended. Thereby, once the 30 days validity period has expired, you won’t be able to use your electronic visa to enter Russia. However, you can re-apply for another one.

Before and during your trip, you must have a printed approval of your visa, as well as a medical insurance valid in Russia for the whole period of your stay to show at the borders.

The same possibilities of eVisas for travel are available for those travelling to Kaliningrad and Kaliningrad Region, as well as Vladivostok and airports in the Far Eastern Federal District of Russia.

List of eligible countries

Austria, Andorra, Bahrain, Belgium, Bulgaria, China and Taiwan, Czech Republic, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Hungary, Germany, Greece, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Iceland, Italy, Kuwait, Finland, France, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Netherlands, North Korea, North Macedonia, Norway, Oman, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, Vatican.

Welcome to Saint Petersburg! It will be my pleasure to see you at one of the offered privately-guided tours.